Liverpool Hope Logo
Find Your Course


Below is a list of the members of the Centre. Contact details are also given below. If you have a general query about the Centre, please visit our Contact Us page for details.

Prof. Daniel Jeyaraj, Director of the Centre

Prof. Andrew F. Walls, Professor of History of Missions

Ms Susan Murray, Head of the Library Services

Ms Karen Backhouse, Special Collections Cataloguer

Advisory committee

Professor Kenneth Newport, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic)

Reverend Dr Peter McGrail, Head, Department of Theology, Philosophy, and Religious Studies

A PGR Student

The Visiting Fellows

Fellows of the Centre

This Centre is a community of scholars from different parts of the world. On receiving nominations from scholars, who have made significant contributions to the study of World Christianity, the Centre recommends to the University for a 3-year appointment of Visiting Professors, Visiting Fellows and Honorary Research Fellows. These scholars advise the Director of the Centre in matters pertaining to its development, overseas both within and outside of the UK, annual conferences and seminars. They actively participate in the conferences and summer schools.

The Centre is grateful for the advice and support rendered by the Visiting Fellows including Professor Robert Eric Frykenberg, Professor Emeritus of History & South Asian Studies, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Professor Richard Fox Young, Professor of History of Religions, Princeton Theological Seminary, New Jersey; Professor Johannes Hoffie Hofmeyer, Professor Emeritus of History of Christianity, South Africa; Dr. William R. Burrows, Managing Editor Emeritus, Orbis Books, Maryknoll and Research Professor of Missiology in the Center for World Christianity at New York Theological Seminary, New York; The Reverend Dr. Samson Olasupo A Ayokunle, PhD. President & CEO, Nigerian Baptist Convention, Nigeria and The Reverend Professor Deji Isaac Ayegboyin, President, The Nigerian Baptist Theological Seminary, Ogbomosho, Nigeria.

At present;

  • Professor Klaus Koschorke, former Professor of Transcontinental Christianity at the Faculty of Protestant Theology, University of Munich, serves as our Visiting Professor.
  • Dr Ingrid Reneau Walls is the Honorary Research Fellow.
  • The Right Reverand Professor of Dennis Ng, the President of the China Victory Theological Seminary in Hong Kong, is our Senior Fellow.
  • Professor Frederick Hale of North-West University in South Africa and of Wolfson College at the University of Cambridge serves as one of our Visiting Fellows.
  • Reverand Dr Peter Olanrewaju Awojobi, the Provost of the UMCA Theological College in Illorin/Nigeria serves as one of our Visiting Fellows.

For information the nomination of Senior Fellows, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Research Fellows, kindly contact Professor Daniel Jeyaraj, (


Seeking your help and participation

The Centre actively collects religious literature – scholarly and popular, mainstream and marginal, official and informal, periodicals and pamphlets – pertaining to African and Asian Christianity. If you wish to donate literature or know someone whom we can contact, please inform either Professor Daniel Jeyaraj ( or Dr Harvey Kwiyani ( We welcome you to see and make use of our collections.


Teaching members of the Centre

Professor Daniel Jeyaraj, Director (Tel. +44 151 291 3761; Email:

Professor Andrew F. Walls, Professor of History of Missions. (Tel. +44 151 291 3761)

Dr Harvey Kwiyani, Lecturer, African Christianity and Theology (Tel. +44 1515 291 2181; Email: (


Library members

Ms Susan Murray, Director of Library and Learning Spaces, Tel. +44 151 291 2002; Email:

Ms Karen Backhouse, Special Collections Librarian, Tel. +44 151 291 2002; Email: backhok@hope.ak


Physical location of the Centre

The Sheppard-Worlock Library  
Hope Park Campus         
Liverpool Hope University           
L16 9JD